A Wonderful Place to Have a Baby

Greer Memorial Hospital – A Wonderful Place To Have a Baby

I deliver babies at Greer Memorial Hospital and take for granted the way things are done at Greer.  However, having recently experienced my son and daughter-in-law delivering at a different hospital, it caused me to reflect on how different and possibly unique things are at Greer.  Here are some of the things that I think make Greer a wonderful place to give birth.

  1.       The facility is gorgeous.  It looks more like a hotel, than a hospital.  The comfortable physical facilities enhance the birth experience.
  2.       The hospital is large enough to be able to deal with any emergency that may arise, but small enough to still be very personal and intimate in its feel.  While the staff where my grandchild delivered was pleasant, there was not the friendship warmth that I frequently see between staff and patients at Greer.

3.       There is a very large waiting area, so different families are not in each other’s space while they wait.
4.       The doctors are involved in the labor, not just the delivery.  During my daughter-in-law’s birthing process, the doctor, whom she had never met, only came into the room when the baby was about to emerge.  He  delivered the baby and left, never to be seen again. He was just doing his job, not participating in a very important and personal experience for the family.  At Greer, the doctors are people the couple get to know prior to the delivery and they are frequently in the room throughout the labor process.  This not only gives the doctor a better feel for how the labor is going, thus aiding the decision-making process.  It is also reassuring to the couple, when the doctor is present during labor, not just the delivery.

5.       The baby stays with mom following delivery.  When the baby is delivered, it is placed on the mother’s chest, where it is stimulated and suctioned and dried.  The only time a baby does not stay with mom is when it has to be resuscitated or is seriously ill.  This is in contrast to what occurred when our grandson was born.  In his case, upon delivery the baby was immediately taken to the warmer.  Once the nurses did their routine, he was given to his mother for about 15 minutes.  He was then taken to the nursery for the next five hours.  There were multiple requests for him to be brought back, but there was always an excuse, even though we could see him crying in his bassinet.  Needless to say, this was not the optimal start for this new baby and his parents.  This would not have happened at Greer, because the baby does not leave the room, unless mom requests the baby be taken to the nursery.

6.       The nurses support natural child birth and mother/baby bonding.  Not everyone wants a medication free birth, but for those who do, having nurses that support this plan is critical to achieving it.  Whatever kind of birth one wants, the Greer nurses work towards making it your personal birth experience and not just follow the protocol that works best for them.

I am thankful I have the privilege of delivering my patients at Greer.  (I am also thrilled with being a “Papa” now.)

If you are looking for a hospital in which to have a baby and want a facility that is focused on you having the best experience possible, you should consider Greer Memorial.

Image

Kevin, Kaela and Kaden

(Inspiration for this Post)

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Congratulations on your grandson! I experienced unnecessary separation from my oldest daughter when she was born at AnMed. It wasn’t five hours–maybe two–but it felt like forever! I simply shouldn’t have let them bathe her, but I had no idea that was an option at the time. We have had two homebirths since then. I really wish I’d known about Greer and the importance of hospital choice before I had my first!

    Reply
  2. Carolyn Collett

     /  November 27, 2012

    Super that you’re Grandparents now! I can only echo what you said about Greer and that our experience was exactly what you described. Everyone was so great to respect our birth plan, let our son stay in the room after his birth, asked us what we wanted to do (checks, bath, etc.), and we got to go home the next morning. Not to mention that my prenatal doctor was the one there for the birth… thanks Dr. S! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Dear Dr. Stafford, this is great to read, and I’d like to share this on the ImprovingBirth.org Facebook page. Our readers are really interested in evidence-based practices, and I’m curious if there are any special protocols at Greer that contribute to it being such a great environment for moms and babies. I see immediate skin-to-skin is routine, which is wonderful! I’m wondering about monitoring or IV requirements, or being in bed or NPO. Thanks very much!
    Cristen Pascucci, ImprovingBirth.org

    Reply
  4. Sarah

     /  December 27, 2013

    I think it depends on how big the practice is. With my first son I only saw the doctor once before I delivered. He came in that night as Tommy was crowning, gowned up quickly, delivered my son (they then took my son to a warmer immediately to do their Apgar testing and I didn’t get to hold him for a while), posed for pictures with us and then left.

    With my second son the delivery was awesome because the practice had only one doctor and I established a relationship and friendship with her. She told me about her 3 daughters and I related to her as a fellow wife and mom. She had been through pregnancy herself and she understood and empathized with all of my struggles. She followed my birth plan 100% and that was the best part. She didn’t dictate how I would labor but allowed me to stay out of bed and so I delivered with absolutely no drugs/epidural and after only 4 hours of labor! She immediately placed my son on my chest, allowed me to cuddle him and nurse him immediately and so it was a much different experience than the first time I delivered. It was the most amazing experience of my life. I felt like doing cartwheels down the hall after delivery. I felt like a superwoman and it was amazing. I think a good doctor lets a woman’s body labor the way it needs to instead of forcing her into unnatural positions or following an unnatural timetable.

    I actually liked the first hospital better because they had private rooms where you delivered and then stayed for the remainder of your time there, and I liked the nurses a lot better. The second hospital (Chester county) had shared rooms which I hated. You delivered in one room and then were immediately moved to a room with a roommate which is just not a nice experience after you’ve had a baby. And the nurses just weren’t as good.

    But I would say the second experience was much better than the first and it was all because of my doctor. If your patients have a wonderful birth experience it is because you are a good doctor and you are in tune to your patient’s emotional needs as well as her medical ones.

    Reply
  5. Carrie Childers

     /  March 14, 2014

    As you probably know, we totally agree! The staff ( including you) were awesome and encouraged us to stick with our birthplan, even through 12 hours of back labor. Everyone was so friendly and supportive and the immediate bonding time with our son was great. We will be back!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

